Yummy Dinner Idea- Stuffed Chicken Breast and Sweet Potato

This week I was really craving sweet potatoes, I couldn’t get it off my mind how yummy one sounded.  So I decided to make them as well as chicken breast and some green beans.  I night of some of my favorite foods.

Baked Chicken Parmesan
Ingredients:
4 chicken breasts, fat trimmed
3/4 Cup seasoned bread crumbs, I used Italian
1/4 Cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 TBSP butter, melted
3/4 Cup reduced fat mozzarella cheese
1 Cup marinara sauce
Cooking Spray

IMG_0018

Directions:
1.) Preheat oven to 450, spray a large baking sheet lightly with cooking spray.
2.) Combine breadcrumbs and Parmesan cheese in a bowl.  Melt butter in another bowl. 
3.) Tenderize chicken breast, then using a sharp knife make a slit in the middle of each chicken breast, just long enough to make a pocket.  Season with salt and pepper and fill with mozzarella cheese.
4.) Roll up chicken breast, lightly brush with butter and roll in the bread crumbs, place onto baking sheet. Repeat with remaining chicken.
5.) Lightly spray with a little more oil and bake in oven for 20 minutes.  Turn chicken and bake for another 5 minutes.
6.) Remove from oven, sprinkle mozzarella cheese on chicken and spoon 1 TBSP of marinara sauce over each breast.  Return to oven for 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

IMG_0019

This recipe was 270 calories, 9.5 grams of fat, 31.5 grams of protein, and 14 carbs.  It was easy to make and was pretty quick as well.  The cheese and marinara sauce really helped to keep the chicken moist and yummy.  This recipe was a win, my fiance loved it!  He talked about it for the rest of the night and told me how great it was, reminding me to keep this recipe and make it again soon.

Sweet Potatoes
For my sweet potato I wanted something that was easy and would only take a few minutes, and allow me to make them on the go since I love them so much!  My fiance claimed he did not like sweet potatoes before I made these said they were gross and was not to happy when I told him I made them for dinner.  However, by time he took one bite of this one he LOVED it.  Ate the whole thing and said I should make them again,  that is what I call a win! 🙂

I used to microwave to make my sweet potato, I figured this would be a nice change for those of you who are stuck in a dorm or just want a quick treat like me.

Steps for Microwave Sweet Potato:
1.) Scrub the sweet potato under running water with a scrubbing brush.
2.) Poke holes into your potato using a fork, about eight or nine times all over the potato.  This is very important not to skip, if you do your potato could explode in the microwave causing a huge mess, and an unneeded heart attack.
3.) Take a full size paper towel and get it wet with cold water.  Ring it out carefully not to rip the paper towel.
4.) Place potato in the middle of the paper towel and loosely fold over both sides covering the potato.  Then fold over the ends loosely to help keep steam in but not to tightly that air can’t get in as well.  This will create a steaming effect.
5.) Microwave for about 7 minutes, some will take less time some a little more depending on the size of the potato.
6.) After microwaving let cool for a few minutes.

If you would like to load you sweet potato here is a great mixture to use:
2 TBSP melted butter
2 TBSP brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract

Cut potato length wise, drizzle a little bit of the brown sugar mixture inside.  Add a layer of marshmallows, drizzle another layer of brown sugar mixture, and one more layer of marshmallows.  Broil for about 30 seconds or until marshmallows are golden brown.

Hope you guys love this weeks recipes! Let me know what you think in the comment section! Happy eating!

2 thoughts on “Yummy Dinner Idea- Stuffed Chicken Breast and Sweet Potato

Leave a comment